Skip to content
comparisons

Otter.ai Alternatives (2026): The Best AI Meeting Note Takers, Priced

Otter.ai alternatives compared on free plans, annual prices, bot-free recording and stated compliance: Fathom, Fireflies, MeetGeek, Granola, tl;dv and Read.ai, plus what a 5-person team pays per year on each. Checked October 29, 2026.

Vera Cole
Otter.ai Alternatives (2026): The Best AI Meeting Note Takers, Priced

TL;DR / Key Takeaways

  • Fathom has the most generous free plan: unlimited recordings and transcripts.
  • Otter Pro ($8.33) and Fireflies Pro ($10) are the cheapest paid plans per user on annual billing.
  • Granola and tl;dv record without a bot joining the call; MeetGeek offers both modes.
  • A 5-person team pays roughly $500 to $900 a year depending on the tool.
  • Check each vendor's AI-training policy before recording client calls.

Short answer: the best Otter.ai alternatives in 2026 are Fathom (the most generous free plan: unlimited recordings), Fireflies (cheapest paid plan at $10 a user on annual billing), Granola and tl;dv (no bot joins your call), and MeetGeek (bot or bot-free, 100+ languages, deep CRM sync). Otter itself is still good value at $8.33 a month on annual billing, but its free plan caps each conversation at 30 minutes. Updated October 29, 2026.

How we checked: plans, limits and privacy claims come from each vendor's own pricing, help-center and security pages, read October 29, 2026. Compliance claims are the vendors' own; we did not audit them. We did not record the same meeting in every tool, so this guide does not rate transcript accuracy. The team-cost table is our arithmetic on published prices.

AI note takers at a glance

ToolFree planCheapest paid (annual billing)Bot joins the call?Stated compliance
Otter.ai300 minutes a month, 30 minutes per conversation, last 25 conversations keptPro $8.33/user/month ($16.99 monthly)Not stated on its pricing pageSOC 2; HIPAA on Enterprise
FathomUnlimited recordings and transcripts; some AI features limitedPremium $16/month ($20 monthly)Bot, or bot-free on Mac (beta)SOC 2 Type II, GDPR, HIPAA BAA
Fireflies400 storage minutes per seat, 20 AI credits a monthPro $10/user/month ($18 monthly)Not stated on the pages we readSOC 2 Type II, GDPR, ISO 42001; HIPAA on Enterprise
MeetGeek3 hours a month, 2 hours per meetingPro: $15.99 on the plan card, $9.99/user in its calculatorBot or bot-freeSOC 2 Type II, HIPAA, GDPR, CCPA
GranolaNotes kept 30 daysBusiness $14/user/monthNo: captures your device audioSOC 2 Type II; HIPAA on Enterprise
tl;dvUnlimited meetings and AI notesPro EUR 18/seat/month (EUR 29 monthly)No bot requiredSOC 2, GDPR, EU hosting
Read.ai5 meeting transcripts a month, 1-hour capPro $15/user/month ($19.75 monthly)Not statedSOC 2 Type 2, GDPR; HIPAA on Enterprise+
AI meeting note takers from each vendor's own pages, October 29, 2026.

What a 5-person team pays per year

Tool and planPer user per month (annual)5 users for a year (our math)
Otter.ai Pro$8.33About $500
Fireflies Pro$10$600
Fathom Team$15$900
Read.ai Pro$15$900
Granola Business$14 (annual price not listed)About $840
tl;dv ProEUR 18EUR 1,080
Our calculation from published per-user prices, October 29, 2026.

Bot or no bot

Most note takers join your call as a visible participant. Some guests dislike that, and some companies block it. Granola records your device audio instead, so nothing joins the call; tl;dv advertises "no bot required"; MeetGeek offers both modes; and Fathom has a bot-free option on Mac in beta. If your calls are with clients who may object to a recorder joining, start with these.

Which one to choose

  • You want it free: Fathom, with unlimited recordings on the free plan; or tl;dv, if you want no bot.
  • Cheapest paid plan for a team: Otter Pro or Fireflies Pro, both around $8 to $10 a user on annual billing.
  • Sales team that lives in the CRM: MeetGeek, which syncs to HubSpot, Salesforce, Pipedrive, Zoho and Attio, or Fathom Team for HubSpot and Salesforce.
  • Nobody should see a bot: Granola.
  • Already pay for Microsoft 365 or Google Workspace: check the built-in option first. Microsoft's Copilot Business add-on recaps Teams meetings ($18 a user a month on annual billing during a 2026 promotion, $21 list), and Gemini note-taking in Meet comes with Workspace Business Standard and up.

Training on your data: Fireflies, MeetGeek and tl;dv say they do not use your meetings to train AI models; Otter says it trains its own models on de-identified data; Granola and Fyxer offer an opt-out. Check this before recording client calls. For other AI assistants that act on your meetings and email, see our Fyxer listing.

Enjoying this? Get one like it in your inbox each morning.

one email a day · unsubscribe in two clicks · no third-party tracking

Frequently asked questions

What is the best free alternative to Otter.ai?

Fathom: its free plan records and transcribes unlimited meetings, while Otter's free plan stops each conversation at 30 minutes and keeps only the 25 most recent. tl;dv's free plan is also unlimited and needs no bot.

Which AI note taker does not join the call as a bot?

Granola records your device audio so nothing joins the call, tl;dv advertises no bot required, MeetGeek offers a bot-free mode, and Fathom has a bot-free option on Mac in beta.

Is Otter.ai still worth it in 2026?

For price, yes: Otter Pro is $8.33 a user a month on annual billing with 1,200 minutes a month and 90-minute conversations. Its free plan is the weak point, with a 30-minute cap per conversation.

Do AI meeting note takers train on my recordings?

It varies. Fireflies, MeetGeek and tl;dv say they do not use your data to train AI models; Otter trains its own models on de-identified data; Granola offers a training opt-out. Read each vendor's privacy page before recording client calls.

Found this useful? Share it.

For builders

Want Stork to write one of these about your product?

Send us a URL. We use the product, form a view, and publish what we actually think — in 8 languages, labeled Sponsored, with no copy approval on your side. That last part is what makes it worth quoting.

See how it works$199 · AI tools & software only

For builders

This page is doing a job for someone else’s tool.

AI agents read it. Buyers land on it. It answers in eight languages and over MCP. Your tool can have one like it — live in 24 hours.